486 Reviews and Replies for Ambit Energy

Ambit Energy Logo
tbd#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 1.98
Order Experience 2.02
Customer Service 1.90
Billing Quality 1.89
Likely to recommend? 1.80

Maine Energy Ratings Score:

( 2.6 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Ambit Energy

Ambit's business model is that of a network or multi level marketing company, where agents are recruited to sell Ambit energy to their friends, family and social network.

Agents are required to pay a $429 fee to set up their business, and are then subject to ongoing monthly fees of $24.95 to maintain their storefront.

Ambit Energy was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Blatantly Lied About Pricing

(1 / 5)

  I called about pricing because of a recommendation from my new apartment manager. I was promised a rate of 6.7 kWh by the representative and I get my first bill and it is actually 13.7, over double what they promised! I am beyond upset at the total disregard for integrity/honesty and will be cancelling my service as soon as possible

Bethany S
October 6th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I really wish I could give zero stars

(1 / 5)

  The customer service representatives over the phone are terrible. I was told two different things and then they don't honor anything they say. I'm not sure why this service was recommended to me and if it gets recommended to you I suggest you do your own research. The customer service people have no idea how to help, seems like they just say whatever which is considered lying to some. The rates are going up and the service is not improving for me. Ambit is one big headache, unless you have money to BLOW!

I had to make a complaint somewhere
October 6th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wish I could give a 0!!

(1 / 5)

  Horrible experience...& management is help!

M.Caruthers
October 3rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No care or morals for people

(1 / 5)

  I was told within a 30 second call on a Friday that my energy would be shut off due to paying a bill 1 day late. Within 5 minutes of that call, I paid my bill. After paying my small bill amount, I was then told my energy would be turned on within 2-4 hours. It has now been 20 hours and NOW Im being told it takes 24 hours. The best part is that Im ALSO told they dont turn electricity on, on the weekends. WTF ? Is this a joke ? I live in Texas in 100 degree heat and all my groceries are gone. Disappointed this company has only been insensitive, immoral, and absolutely ridiculous within a month of signing. I DO NOT recommend. They owe me $1,000 of groceries! Hope theyre happy with my $172 bill (which is grossly overcharged for one person I might add).

Gabby
September 25th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They lie about their rates

(1 / 5)

  What are the odds that as soon as I renew my contract with them they wanna send me a bill for 2x what I have ever paid.

N/A
September 15th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Liars

(1 / 5)

  I switched to them because they said were going to give me a specific rate. Then when the first bill came it was not the rate quoted . I called and they said that was only for the first month . so i said ok , at that point they were supposed to credit the difference for that first bill which was about $200... never happened . They blamed NYSEG , NYSEG blamed them . No accountability. Ive wasted much time with phone calls to get nowhere.

guy who got ripped off
September 9th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cancelled my account then sent me to collections

(1.4 / 5)

  I was a customer on autopay without any issues, on a one year contract. About 5 months in, Ambit discontinued my service. I only knew this bc I had a fee on my apartment rental acct which the apt mgr said was a "house electric charge".. about $100. The apartment will do this when the tenant has no utility company, b/c you can't live there without utilities and you need to be paying for your utilities. When I called Ambit, they couldn't tell me why this happened and would do a "deep dive". A couple weeks later they contact me to say that someone applied for service with another company using my apartment unit #, and that service was switched out of my name to the other person's name. Long story short, during the time Ambit cancelled my account (6 wks) they still billed me for about $300 while I was paying for "house electric" with my apartment. They lied and said they didn't cancel me but couldn't explain why there was a cancellation fee on my account. Ambit totally screwed this whole thing up, lied, charged me for service not provided and then sent me to collections. I'm overpaying $300 but can't be bothered to fight them b/c it's too convoluted. Ambit's customer service is also atrocious- as you can imagine I had to call in multiple times and they either hang up on you while you're on hold, can't figure out your bill or will argue that you are wrong and lie to your face.

Moral: DON'T USE AMBIT.

I got set up with TXU after that (the apt "house electric") and it's been great.

CG
September 6th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont use them

(1 / 5)

  Ive been with ambit for about two years. When I moved I asked them to change my billing address which was never done. I received my bills late each month since they were forwarded to my new house. They refused to credit me back a late fee and disconnect fee. Customer service will not make it right. See you ambit off to another provider.

Cher
September 3rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit sucks

(1 / 5)

  This was THE worst electric company Ive ever had! I have so many PUC complaints on them its not even funny but my last complaint about my inadvertent loss topped the cake. My electric was switched out, my apts & I had to work on this for the fact no one would tell me anything coz my name wasnt on the bill the persons name my electric was in wasnt even living in my apts! They lied to the state saying they tried to contact me when my inadvertent loss happened. Thats a lie. Do not get electric here. Besides being high as hell, they are not a good company. Ive gotten all my info together & finally got a lawyer because it ridiculous how a company can act and not even care. & for the state to not even take issues like this serious is a problem. They are also WAY to high. I have a one bedroom apt & was paying close to 200$ a month. I now have GME & my bill isnt even 100$!!! F&$! This company and everything they stand for. Ill see them in court.

Dont bother
August 31st, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Save yourself!

(1.8 / 5)

  I've been with Ambit for 3 years. The first year started off great! I'm an energy cheapskate so everything gets turned off. For 3 years I haven't changed anything about how much electricity I use. Yet my. Is getting higher and higher? If anything I'm using less energy than before? It's not worth it! Look for something else!

P*ssed customer!
August 28th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit is an absolute joke

(1 / 5)

  I am literally fuming. They tell me I have a smart meter but don't send anyone to check on them to make sure it's accurate readings and when you request a reading be done, they want to charge a fee on top of the ridiculous amount you're already having to pay even when you hardly use any electricity in your tiny apartment. DO NOT SIGN ON WITH THEM! I feel as if I've been robbed.

Kenna
August 27th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Biggest scam- Lived in several different apartments never paid over $120

(1.4 / 5)

  Had this service for a month and a half and immediately canceled high prices and a bunch of bull shit charges it's my fault for not doing enough research and now I'm stuck with a $200 cancellation fee. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR AMBIT my apartment locators reccomended them and I didn't think twice and now I have to deal with this bull shit.

take my money
August 24th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not Trusted Company

(1 / 5)

  There are hidden fees included and the customer service can't provide you with any legal document for the extra charge, I'd scheduled 8/30/2021 to stop my service forever.

Copied this from my bill> Current miscellaneous adjustments: $ 62.47.

Please don't let this company scams you too.

Ahmed
August 20th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Will never again use this provider.

(1.8 / 5)

  I was barely home ever and I was living in a very small apartment and paying over 100 dollars even when there was no electricity usage. Even friends that owned a house payed less. Horrible provider

Miguel
August 17th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Their website is horrible

(1.4 / 5)

  They shut off my electricity because theirr website for some reason won't take my payment. I've tried multiple ways of paying for it and then got a notice that it wasn't paid. I called and they said it was my fault and that I should have made sure that it went through. I had to pay to turn it back on and pay late fees even after I had confirmation that I paid it but it never pulled out of my account. I've tried to set up auto pay three times and it still says I'm not signed up for auto pay. They told me that it could be up to 24 hours before my electricity would be turned back on, thankfully it didn't take that long. Overall I'm super dissatisfied.

Aw
August 6th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Save your self and your money- do NOT trust Ambit

(1 / 5)

  I have been with Ambit for years on and off when they are available in my area. At the end of my last contact I didnt renew because I was looking to move and didnt know what area. My house is only 1,200 sqft and I do not keep it down in the 60s. My bills have been outrageous, far more than I have ever paid in my life. Im using 1000-1200 kWh and my last 2 bills have been over $200 a month. I enrolled with another provider and Ambit called me asking what they could do to keep me! I laughed and said nothing and explained the reason, the rep said if I ever changed my mind give them a call! Well, Ill tell you NOT a chance in HELL. My last bill was almost $300! Are you out of your fricken mind! Stay clear of this company! If TX didnt deregulate they would be invested

TC
August 5th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lights out

(2.2 / 5)

  Cheap rates, but you get what you pay for! Dont expect a text or call if you forget the bill. Out sourced call center , good luck chuck. Look elsewhere the 1 star reviews are probably there for a reason?

D
August 5th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont use ambit energy never!

(1 / 5)

  Dont use ambit energy! I choose it because I though I will benefit from it but theyll give you some plans and then they will higher the price this is an absurd company never choose ambit.

Ambit
August 3rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Another Planet

(1.8 / 5)

  Don't expect to understand, over the phone, the out-sourced Ambit call-takers. Don't expect any dialects of American English to be spoken. Ambit's call-takers and their supervisors articulation, pronunciation, and dialect--while supposedly communicating in English--is from another planet.

Since January 2016, I've been an Ambit customer today is July 30, 2021. Yesterday, I wrangled with three different call-takers and presumably one supervisor over a billing issue. By the time that I gave up, I felt as though I'd been wrestling with a bear for several hours.

At the end of last month (June 30, 2021), I paid my bill in full using their automated telephone system. With their paper statement in front of me showing the total balance due, I write my check for that exact same amount (using my carbon-copy checkbook). On the top of my check, as well as on the top of their paper statement, I note something such as this:

pd by ph 6/30/21
ck# 1234
cf#abc123def456 (confirmation #)

I noticed yesterday that their most current statement shows me as owing a past-due balance of $2.50. Inspecting last month's statement and my carbon copy check that I had stapled to it, nope...I had written that check for the same amount as "total due." Upon further inspection of last month's statement, however, I saw on the 2nd page the lesser amount their call takers had been insisting to me was the amount I had paid. It was $2.50 less. Then, I saw their electronic processing fee was $2.50.

The supposed supervisor (my 4th contact) told me that I would have to prove what I had paid last month by faxxing to Ambit my carbon copy check. I did fax that, in addition to that particular statement and the current statement that shows the unpaid balance of $2.50. The supervisor promised that I would hear back from Ambit in 48 hours.

Oh. Let me add this. During the disastrous week of the infamous Texas ice storm and power outages, I had no electric power from Monday February 15, 2021, to Thursday evening of February 18. My bill covering that period was astronomically high--as in, $200 range instead of the $100 and below range. I called about that, back then. But again, Ambit's call-takers' versions of spoken English and their reliance upon reading their required script (passed off as "conversation") had me feeling as though I were wrestling bears.

I HIGHLY do NOT recommend Ambit Energy for the sole reason of their outsourced call-taker agents. Their oral language skills are 'outa this world'...as if they are from another planet.

Eve Raine
July 30th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible customer service

(1.4 / 5)

  The service was ok, but when it came time to cancel my college daughter's account, they turned over the deposit to a third party to return. Two months later, I can't get them on the phone, and believe it is a scam to retain all deposits.I would not choose them again!!!

Richard
July 26th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions