543 Reviews and 397 Replies for Direct Energy

Direct Energy Logo
tbd#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 2.94
Order Experience 2.99
Customer Service 2.98
Billing Quality 2.90
Likely to recommend? 2.83

Maine Energy Ratings Score:

( 3.3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Direct Energy
Direct Energy is one of the largest providers of energy and energy-related services in North America. With customers in all 50 states, 10 Canadian provinces, and Washington, D.C. Direct Energy has also shown to be a progressive company, developing new plans, products and technology that deliver consumer insights and resources to help them save money. The Nest Learning Thermostat, Plenti and their personalized Online Account Manager are all tools that Direct Energy puts in the hands of their customers to use less energy. They're also very progressive, with active social communities on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest that help them stay in contact with their customers.

THE DOOR TO DOOR KIDS IN OUR NEIGHBORHOOD

(5 / 5)

  I just wanted to say, we have your service and we're happy but on Neighborhood app, people are submitting complaints they think the kids your company uses door to door to get families to switch their service providers, they think they are a scam,. Asking for our BGE bills and such. Maybe your should go into tv and tell our neighbors that those kids knocking on our doors happen to work for you and that what they are doing is legit. I know because that is how we switched from Constellation to Direct Energy.

Sherie Turpin
January 20th, 2022

Hello Sherie. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will take the necessary measures to clarify any doubts in this regard and we will take your suggestions into account. Thank you very much for giving us the opportunity to serve you, we are honored to have you in our family and we will continue working hard to always meet your high expectations. Thank you for the amazing rating! Enjoy your weekend! - Sophie / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds January 21st, 2022
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy Best Rates Available

(5 / 5)

  Direct Energy has fantastic competitive rates, great customer service, and a user friendly website. Simple and cost-effective is why I'm a Direct Energy customer. Plus you get Get a $50 bill credit

I. Smith
November 29th, 2021

Hello I. Smith. Thank you for taking some time out of your busy day to share your great experience with us. We are delighted to know that we have been able to satisfy your needs and that you are happy with the service we provide. Our main objective is to always give you the best experience so that all of our interactions to be 5-stars! Thank you for referring us to your friends and family, to have more details about this campaign go to https://www.directenergy.com/refer-a-friend. Thank you for trusting us! Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds November 30th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing Error

(5 / 5)

  I was pretty happy with the company and the plan(Free nights 9pm to 9am) I have. On my latest bill, there is an error. On all my previous bills, you will see "FREE Usage xxx kWh and FREE TDU Charges" but not on the latest November bill there is no credit for "Free TDU Charges" . So the amount is more than double because the FREE TDU Charges" were not credited. I had been trying to contact the online customer service but they just don't understand the bill at all.

Henry
November 19th, 2021

Good afternoon, Henry. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced regarding your bill. You are an important part of our family and we would love to further investigate this matter, please feel free to contact us by phone at 888-305-3828, or through our Live Chat department at www.directenergy.com, we will do our best to solve your concern. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for the feedback. Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds November 22nd, 2021

Finally the error in my bill has been corrected.
Thank you!

Henry Replies December 14th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best electric company

(5 / 5)

  I recommend it 100%
The best rate, honest,they don't take advantage of their customers,, excellent customer service

Belem Gonzalez
September 12th, 2021

Good afternoon, Belem. Thank you for sharing this nice review with us. We hope to have the opportunity to be your trusted electricity supplier again in the future. Thank you for the opportunity you gave us to serve you. Please feel free to reach us anytime you need us, we'll be waiting for you. Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds September 13th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

$50 off with code Y8PT5E !!!

(5 / 5)

  I LOVE direct energy. Their customer service is fantastic. Every time weve called they have attended us in a friendly and efficient manner. Plus I got $50 off with this code: Y8PT5E

Ana Wilder
September 1st, 2021

Good afternoon, Ana. There is no bigger compliment for us than when our customers say they would recommend Direct Energy to their family and friends! Are you familiar with our Refer a Friend Promotion? You and the new customer can each receive a $50 credit. To find out more information, visit our website at https://www.directenergy.com/refer-a-friend. We love knowing that you have had great assistance from our Customer Care Team. We always strive to provide an excellent customer experience and we definitely appreciate when our customers share their awesome experience through reviews, so we thank you for taking the time to do so! Thank you for your trust and loyalty! Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds September 2nd, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great rates and customer service

(5 / 5)

  I have been with Direct Energy in the past and left thinking I could get a better rate. The customer service is excellent when you have any billing issues they treat you with respect. I went back to them this year and put their service on 2 houses. You will be pleased to know Direct has great people working for them.

A
August 7th, 2021

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to share this important comment with us. Thank you so much for giving us another chance to serve you. We are very happy to have you in our family and we will do our very best to continue as your electricity provider for many years to come! Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds August 10th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Absolutely THE BEST!

(5 / 5)

  As other people have had problems paying their bills before, during and with the continued covid crisis, Direct Energy has been there for me and my family through it all! I have never had a more positive experience with friendly and helpful customer service representatives than I have with Direct Energy! In several states to include Texas, no energy company has delivered the best experience!

The BEST Energy company!
August 6th, 2021

Good afternoon. Thank you so much for this awesome review! These have been difficult times for everyone, and we are glad to have been able to serve you and always be there for you, because you are a very important part of our family. We know that together we can achieve great things. Thank you for your trust and loyalty! Please take care and be safe! - Sophie / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds August 10th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I'm already a customer,,i give 5 star +good Custer service and my plan was exelent very honest company i recommended 100%

(5 / 5)

  I recommend 100% and i give 5+Star
Very honest company
They don't take advantage of in there customers like others company do,,thank you

Belem Gonzalez
June 12th, 2021

Wow, we were blown away by your positive words, we really appreciate the time you took to write such a detailed review, Belem. We are honored to have you as a customer. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds June 15th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The best service in all terms! A happy customer

(5 / 5)

  Great deals. Good service

Jeniepriyanka
June 10th, 2021

Hello Jeniepriyanka. Thank you for this great rating and comment! We are so pleased to know that we have earned your trust and loyalty, and we appreciate you sharing your experience. We will continue doing our best to be your trusted electricity provider for a long time to come! Have a great weekend! - Sophie / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds June 11th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A great big help!

(5 / 5)

  I contacted customer support because I used the wrong bank account to make a payment and they were quick to get it canceled so I didnt get an overdraft fee. Also assured me I would not be disconnected if my payment did not clear because the money came out of my cash app account and was denied but showed complete on their side. Completely satisfied with DIRECT ENERGY!!!

Jennifer Medlin
June 3rd, 2021

Hi Jennifer, wow, we were blown away by your positive words, we really appreciate the time you took to write such a detailed review! We noticed you mentioned that the mistake with the payment has been addressed and we are very happy about it. Feel free to contact us whenever you need it. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds June 7th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent

(5 / 5)

  Excellent

Mike
May 25th, 2021

Hi Mike, we're pleased to know that your experience with us was a good one. thank you for entrusting us with the care of your energy and for taking a moment to leave this review. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital care

Direct Energy Responds May 26th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best in texas

(5 / 5)

  Gaddy helped us keep our power on when we made a mistake with transfer and it was seem less. They go above and beyond for customers

Ryan
May 10th, 2021

Hello Ryan. Thank you so much for taking some time to share this great feedback with us! We are so delighted to know you received the attention you deserve! We will make sure to congratulate Gaddy and her team for her commitment and the amazing job done! Thank you for your trust and loyalty, we're happy to serve you! Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds May 10th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied customer

(5 / 5)

  I would re-order with them again if they are the cheapest.

Happy customer
November 15th, 2020

Hi there! Thank you so much for your vote of trust! We totally appreciate your loyalty and we will do our best to continue offering you the best price available in the area. Thank you for this amazing review! Have a great start of the week! - Sophie / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds November 16th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

good

(5 / 5)

  did what was needed, no service interruptions or delays

s
November 13th, 2020

Hi, reading comments like yours make every minute of hard work worthwhile because we realize that day by day we manage to strengthen the bonds of trust with our customers. We will continue working for you, to always provide you with the best experience and be able to cover your energy needs. Thank you so much for this review! Zoeh / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds November 16th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thank you for understanding!

(5 / 5)

  Camila and Emma on the messenger option are amazing! Kind, professional, understanding and that is very rare to find in customer service nowadays. Thank you!!!

Diana
October 9th, 2020

Hi Diana, your story is incredible. We are overjoyed to know that Direct Energy exceeded your expectations and showed what the customer service experience should be! We are glad to have Camila and Emma as part of our Digital Care team. We will be sure to pass this feedback along to the appropriate team for recognition. Thank you for your business and your kind review. Stay safe! Happy weekend. Zoeh / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds October 9th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy to setup

(5 / 5)

  Called and got a better rate

Bill
October 7th, 2020

Hi Bill, your 5-star review is really appreciate it. Glad to know that you are having a great experience being part of our big family. Direct Energy value your business and loyalty. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds October 7th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very satisfied

(5 / 5)

  Easy to sign up and easy to renew.

Madeline Fornaro
September 16th, 2020

Hi Madeline. Welcome to Direct Energy. You've given us your commitment to earning your business, and in rating, we will commit to providing this same 5-star service to you. Glad to know that we are making your life easy. Have a great day! - Emma / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds September 16th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Plan expiring 4-29-2020 w. Direct Energy

(5 / 5)

  Professional and honest

Plan expiring 4-29-2020 w. Direct Energy
March 16th, 2020

Good afternoon. We certainly strive to hit a higher standard for customer experience and we are thrilled to see this has been the case for you! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate having a customer such as yourself. Have a great day and stay safe. - Eleanor / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Super

(5 / 5)

  Very satisfied with supplier

Art
February 10th, 2020

This is excellent news, Art! Our primary goals always include responding efficiently, providing outstanding customer care, and ensuring our customers have a re-established peace of mind that comes with having a trusted energy company working with them. We are glad this has been the case for you as well! Best wishes to you and your family. Stay safe and stay healthy. - Megan / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Energy Shoppers Review

(5 / 5)

  I Received my renewal notice, and compared prices, only to find Direct energy was more than some others for the same one year, no fee,no cancellation charge,plan. Based on that I checked with them and found that was the best they could do, but I was offered a $100.00 gift card, which made up the difference. That sweetener, sealed the deal, for me.

Paul Myers
December 9th, 2019

Thank you for opting to stay with us! We are pleased to have earned your trust, and we look forward to having you as our customer for may years to come. Have a wonderful day!

Direct Energy Responds December 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions