69 Reviews and Replies for Liberty Power

Liberty Power Logo
tbd#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 1.53
Order Experience 1.54
Customer Service 1.59
Billing Quality 1.43
Likely to recommend? 1.39

Maine Energy Ratings Score:

( 2.2 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Liberty Power
Liberty Power was founded in Houston, Texas in 2001. While they do provide residential electricity, they specialize and concentrate on commercial electricity to businesses and government entities. Liberty Power is licensed to sell electricity in Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Massachusetts, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Texas and Washington, DC.

Fraud

(1 / 5)

  A door to door salesman went to my brother in laws house which is next door to where my husband and I live. They switched the service over to this company without my husbands authorization. I will be looking to proceed legally against this company.

Stolen Identity
September 28th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible!

(1 / 5)

  Big time scammers! Bait & switch. Exorbitant prices. Horrible experience.

Rach
September 14th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company Ive ever used

(1 / 5)

  Their rates are through the roof, their customer service is just as horrible. After requesting to extend my due date by ONE day they said yes then they cut my electricity off anyways in the middle of Texas heat. I have a two year old who is sitting in the heat because their representatives in competency.

Hayley
September 8th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCAM COMPANY! Switched my service without consent!

(1 / 5)

  I'm a Reliant customer and they illegally switched my service from Reliant to Liberty Power using a previous resident's name from 3 years ago! Tried calling their customer service but their automated system keeps you in a loop without speaking to anyone. They sent 2 bills under the former owner's name in which I contacted them to let them know about it and forwarded those bills via regular snail mail. I reported this fraud to Reliant in which they investigated and subsequently reported that LP insisted it WAS authorized to switch the service! TOTAL HOGWASH! I'm also a solar user so all the extra electricity went back to THEM without credit because they don't offer a buy-back program like Reliant does. So for 2 weeks I lost those buy-back credits because during the summertime my panels produce more electricity than I need for night-time usage. HORRIBLE COMPANY - DON'T DO BUSINESS WITH THEM!!

Joe / A solar user
August 5th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible choice

(1 / 5)

  Ive been in the hospital due to extensive injuries from a wreck and I come home to my power out. I called and was informed that there is nothing they can do unless they receive a full payment although I wasnt able to use services and have been in the hospital. This company lied about paying past bills with my old company and forcefully switched my services not to mention walking around our apartments at 2 and 3 in the morning trying to make sales. This is completely disgusting and Id advise anyone not to work with them!

Marc Haygood
July 14th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam you into switching

(1 / 5)

  I had a call telling me I overpaid in my electric bill and that they needed me to verify the National Grid account info so they can apply the $100 gift card and savings. Next thing you know, you are being told that Liberty Power will be your supplier. I put the brakes in it and said I needed to look into it. I didnt want to switch suppliers. Next thing you know, the friendly guy became a monster yelling at me that I agreed and just wasted twenty minutes of his time. I told him I was a single parent and responsible for my household and that I never make decisions quickly without looking it it. He tried to say just give the go ahead and we will send you the gift card and you can review, but you would have cancel within three days. I told him he said it would be cheaper at $0.11 per kWh, but I am being charged $0.07 per kWh with my current supplier. I said without giving me the time to review anything and I wasnt feeling comfortable, I would need to decline as the phone call started and ended very differently. The guy wouldnt stop yelling at me so I hung up on him.

Lies to get truck you into a service
July 14th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very underhanded

(1 / 5)

  Called saying they were oncor then proceeded to try to force me to try to change to their company without saying that's what they were doing until the very end when they off handedly said oh and your bill will now be coming from us.

Unhappy
July 1st, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Company

(1 / 5)

  Customer service was terrible , no help. The sales rep lied and did not tell the truth about the services. I was charged more and they did not pay my old cancelation fee.

N/A
June 2nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scammers, Liars

(1 / 5)

  Long story short: A salesman for this company came knocking on my door and spun a story that Oncor through the current power company that my husband and I could are with was charging us too much. Said to this salesman twice that we didn't want to change. He assures that we could stay with our current power company and that there would be no changing of power companies and I asked him twice and he still assured me.

Behold, we get a notice from our current power company that we cancelled services from them, which we did not. No words can express how upset I became that I had been tricked and had to re-enroll back to our current power company. Even though we got a better plan with the re-enrollment, I am definitely angry about the deception that Liberty Power used. I would recommend that anyone who gets a visit from a Liberty Power salesperson to say No and keep saying No.

KDB
May 5th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Liberty power

(5 / 5)

  I am paying only $40.00 bills every month! The amount of savings I have is amazingggg

Denisse mimiaga
April 7th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They have no liberty only power.

(1 / 5)

  7,000 light bill for one month!!! When Texas got hit hard by winter storms, they hit us even harder!

Worst company ever!
April 5th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Majority Good Experience

(4 / 5)

  We signed up with a door-to-door guy--he and his partner were very informative, personable, funny. He took lots of time and helped us look up our current provider and plan on my husband's phone. My only complaint is that he talked REALLY fast so there was lots of request for repeating--he always accommodated these requests and really wanted to be sure we understood everything.

Liberty appeared to be a better deal and so far our bills have supported this. I see other reviews about really big bills and wonder if those people were on an average billing plan before and with Liberty they are not. I did get hit with a cancellation fee from my previous company but was NEVER told that Liberty would cover that cost. I did get hit with late fees associated with being on their auto-pay feature and when I called was told that it is just an unfortunate fact that even if the lateness is caused by the banking system, they still consider it late. I take exception to that policy and will take the advice of another reviewer and just pay the bill myself, early. Customer Service, while delivering the company line, was very professional and empathetic. It wasn't his fault that the company has a stupid policy.

I have received my gift cards as promised and plenty of notification and instructions to take advantage of the rewards program--like other companies who offer such rewards programs (Credit Cards come to mind), it is a marketing/promo scheme for a variety of companies...I will use my reward dollars toward gift cards for places I already shop/eat.

I only gave a 3 star for recommending the company because I am still in my first year with Liberty so have not experienced a summer yet. Also, I am not in the habit of "recommending" utility companies to people I know. That's kind of odd to me.

Elizabeth
March 5th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip off

(1.4 / 5)

  Rip off over charge and lied about low price . Dont recommend it .

Areli
February 3rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be aware of liberty power

(1 / 5)

  Biggest lairs in this nation

Filimon
February 2nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scamers!

(1 / 5)

  Sales person came to my house, promised low rates, cash bonus, previous provider termination fee payed by them. None of this was true. Less than a month from signup I want to go back to my previous provider because I dont want to pay termination fees, liberty wants to charge me their own termination fees. Its a scam

Steven
January 30th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware*

(1 / 5)

  Sales person came to my house, promised low rates, cash bonus, previous provider termination fee payed by them. None of this was true. Less than a month from signup I want to go back to my previous provider because I dont want to pay termination fees, liberty wants to charge me their own termination fees. Its a scam

Vincent Zapata
January 5th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Theyre LIARS

(1 / 5)

  Had an agent show up to my door, and catch out attention with a 8.6 cent kilowatt. Then proceeded to tell us that liberty power would pay our early cancellation with TXU energy, then on monday I got my last bill with TXU and theyre charging us the $150 cancellation fee. I call liberty power and the agent on the phone tells me THEY DO NO SUCH THING and that the agent lied to us!!! Im beyond annoyed and angry. I dont have 465 dollars to dish out for my last bill with TXU and if we wanna cancel with liberty power theyre charging us 200 dollars!!

JJ
December 31st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam artists

(1 / 5)

  I NEVER agreed to switch. I NEVER signed one document. I told the sales rep I was not interested in switching providers. A few days later I get a cancelation from my current energy provider. They switched me over without authorization. Do not trust these people. Fraudulent company.

scam artists
December 24th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointed Customer

(1 / 5)

  Signed up with promotion offered but once bill arrived not honored. Call to speak with someone about promotion offered which conversation was recorded by me ,no resolution as of today.

Martha Young
December 22nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Big Liars!!!! Scam!!!

(1 / 5)

  They came up to my parents house talking about lower prices and made my mom signed a paper not knowing it was for them to change her without her permission..... they lied to her!!!!

Nana
October 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions