46 Reviews and Replies for Public Power

Public Power Logo
tbd#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 2.74
Order Experience 2.78
Customer Service 2.89
Billing Quality 2.89
Likely to recommend? 2.78

Maine Energy Ratings Score:

( 3.6 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Public Power
Public Power, a subsidiary of Crius Energy, is a deregulated electricity provider that offers service in Connecticut and Pennsylvania.

Just another company

(2.6 / 5)

  It brags of savings but I haven't seen any.

Ohio
October 3rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

You never followed thru with the sign up.

(1.4 / 5)

  I signed up on line for electric, but you never changed me over. I called a couple of weeks later, because I got an email. There was a number that I was to call. The customer service rep said I would need to call another number on Monday. She could not help me. She said they needed to verify it was me. Why couldn't she do that. After all she is your customer service rep.! She said she would leave them a message. I never called them back and I never got a call, and so, I never got signed up. Why have customer service if they can not help?

Michael
July 18th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  I've tried calling this company three times and the first two times I waited 25 minutes and no one answered the call. Today I called and a gentleman answered in the first minute, but didn't answer my question why my security deposit ($444) is not being used toward my new bills after one year of paying on time (as initially promised). He switched me to Billing and I've been waiting another 25 minutes for someone to answer the phone. You can't contact this company by email, which in this day and age is absurd. Next step is to write a letter. Unbelievable!!!!

Eileen M
July 8th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Seamless Order

(5 / 5)

  Easy ordering experience-quick completion and transition to provider

Easy Order-PP
June 18th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rejected

(1 / 5)

  NATIONAL GRID STOPPED HANDLING THE CO. I WAS USING.
ASKED TO CHOOSE A NEW ONE. DID SO FROM SUPPOSED ALLOWED PLANS. SELECTED ONE. RECEIVED A LETTER STATING THAT NG WOULD NOT ACCEPT THAT PLAN FOR WHATEVER REASON. SO I CURRENTLY HAVE NO PLAN ACCEPT FOR NG.

x
June 2nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not switch to Public Power!

(1 / 5)

  Public Power offers very competitive rates to lure in customers for a short period of time. I am usually very vigilant when I try a new energy supplier. Due to personal circumstances, I was not able to watch my bills closely, and as soon as the fixed rate was up, they sent a letter that they putting me on a new fixed rate and gave me a couple of days to rescind the new rate agreement. As stated, I was not in the capacity of checking if the new rate was fair. So they locked me in to a new high rate (with a penalty to cancel mid term). I asked to cancel, but they refused to waive the cancellation fee.
It turns out that in just 4 months they over charged me more the $35 over the utility company.

They are totally unethical. Such an energy company should be penalized and discredited.

Actual numbers below:

Electric Billing PeriodESCO SUPPLIERESCO TOTALO&R TOTAL DIFFERENCE

FEBRUARY 16, 2021 - MARCH 16, 2021 (28 DAYS)PUBLIC POWER OF NY$88.60 $81.87 +$6.73
JANUARY 15, 2021 - FEBRUARY 16, 2021 (32 DAYS)PUBLIC POWER OF NY$121.57 $111.62 +$9.95
DECEMBER 15, 2020 - JANUARY 15, 2021 (31 DAYS)PUBLIC POWER OF NY$120.72 $107.63 +$13.09
NOVEMBER 13, 2020 - DECEMBER 15, 2020 (32 DAYS)PUBLIC POWER OF NY$113.03 $105.50 +$7.53

Your Average Shmoe
April 8th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

electricity

(5 / 5)

  I chose Public Power since it has a stable price for one year. The switchover from eversource was seemless and painless. So far so good with Public Power.

Daniel Dana
March 4th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad company

(1 / 5)

  After our contract expired our rate went up 2 cents to 9 cents per kwh. No big deal. But the second month our rate went to 18 cents per kwh. We called to try to resolve it but they werent willing to refund the difference nor were they willing to offer a contract comparable with the regular power company. Absolutely no reason to deal with this company. Bad service, high rates, dishonest practices, and nobody can seem to be able to resolve anything. I spoke with a man from the office of the president for public power and he seemed to believe that his company had done nothing wrong. When I asked if he would do business with a company that treated him like his company treated me, he hung up the phone.

Very Dissatisfied
February 4th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

John

(3.8 / 5)

  Quick and easy

John
February 3rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied

(5 / 5)

  I was very satisficed with service.

Ed
November 27th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Public power for the win

(4.8 / 5)

  Very easy to set up, pay bill online and nothing needed to be changed on my end. I just paid less money for electricity!! It was a win to make the change

Jenn
November 24th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

excellent

(5 / 5)

  everything was smooth

donna Antinerella
November 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy transfer

(5 / 5)

  My previous provider gave short notice of termination.
The switch to Public was fast enough to avoid a problem, with only a few key strokes on my computer.
The prices also were lower than I was paying previously.

Easy switch
July 19th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

UNHELPFUL

(1.2 / 5)

  I was overcharged, did not receive my refund check. Its been over 6 weeks. I called multiple times spoke with multiple people. Not a single thing was solved with loose answers that beat around the question ! Supervisor was in a very long call and could not speak. SURPRISE! Absolutely pathetic.

UNHELPFUL AND OVERCHARGE
May 12th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I would not recommend Public Power

(1.2 / 5)

  we signed up for $.0699 rate for 33 months. 8 months later they lost track of our credit card for the $14.95 month fee for their service. 2 months after that, they said they left a voicemail message that we didn't get. 4 months after that they said they left another voicemail message that we did not get. 3 months later our rate doubled to $.12490 per kWh. They said that since we didn't answer their voice mail messages, that put us in default. No email message was received, only "voicemail messages". We get voice mail messages every day and we answer them. They did not call our number and did not notify us that we went into the default rate which was double our agreed to rate.

Public Power is not a good player
December 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent price and service

(5 / 5)

  Best price by far of any choice, easy to order, 2 year term, never any issues

DR
November 13th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Satisfied

(4 / 5)

  Satisfied with the rate.

JOANN
August 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Satisfaction

(4.2 / 5)

  I had a billing issue early on which was resolved by one of the customer service representatives (Andre) in a polite and timely manor. It was pleasure to get an issue resolved timely.

Satified Customer
June 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Well satisfied

(5 / 5)

  I have had a great experience with Public Power. Good price and no outages

Jake
June 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Will never use Public power again

(1 / 5)

  I never write negative reviews, but I think in this case its worth it. Do yourself a favor and dont use these guys. I was in contract with them and had a decent rate for a year, contract ended and then they shot me up to the highest rate they possibly could (higher than the highest any other provider had and higher than the standard rates by the Eversource). I didn't cancel in time, which is my fault so I ate the cost, didn't complain and paid the bill. The day I received that bill I called them and cancelled which was almost 4 weeks before my next meter read. A month later I get a bill (with Public Power being the provider) with that same insanely high rate. I called them and they said it could take 1-2 billing cycles to remove me from their billing. Long story short, they are holding me hostage to this rate until they decide to get to my name on a list and work with Eversource to remove me. I spoke to customer service and management and they wont do anything for me and keep telling me its their policy. Lets be honest, its an administration issue. They will get to your cancellation when they get to it, thus the 1-2 month policy. In my opinion, this is terrible business and a terrible way to treat customers. There is no reason why this process cant be expedited, b/c customers shouldn't be held hostage to your ridiculous rates if they are out of contract and ask to be removed within a reasonable amount of time from the next meter read.

Anthony Collazo
March 6th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions